Breaking news - the owner of an Ohio professional sports franchise has watched its star player walk away from his team, leaving it potentially in shambles for the foreseeable future, and has responded in a childish manner that makes him look like a fool. Give you two guesses to figure out who it is?
Dan Gilbert?
Yes actually, but that's not who I'm writing about. This time it's Mike Brown, owner of the Cincinnati Bengals.
Mike Brown is an idiot. In case you haven't already read it, here's what he said regarding Carson Palmer asking for a trade or telling the team he would retire:
"Carson signed a contract. He made a commitment. He gave his word," Brown said. "We relied on his word. We relied on his commitment. We expected him to perform here. He's going to walk away from his commitment. We aren't going to reward him for doing it."
Are you kidding me? How many times in the last 10 years do you think Mike Brown has decided to cut a player who was under contract with the Bengals? Bet the number has 3 digits. Ask all of these players how much good it would do them to say those same words to Mike Brown. "Hey Mike, you gave me your word. I relied on that word to feed my family and pay my mortgage. I know that I've (sucked lately / been injured / gotten old), but you made me a promise and I'm not going to reward you for breaking your word."
Carson told him he wanted out. Then he sold his house. The Bengals thought he was, what, joking? He was specific, and gave them plenty of time to prepare. They were able to draft a qb, and there are any number of capable veteran qb's on the market right now. That's highly unusual, and they're in great position to make the change. But no, he want's to be a vindictive asshole about it. What is it with Ohio sports team owners and their ridiculous behavior? Good lord people, let it go. Please tell me there's gonna be a video of Mike Brown burning Carson's jersey on the street.
Hey Mike, here's the thing...he's not asking to be released. He's asking to be traded. In your blind rage, chill the f*** out for a second and listen. Traded. That means you give him to someone else, then they give you something in return. It's like buying a Mercedes. You give them money, they give you a car. See? Your alternative is to stand your ground, be very principled, don't let a player push you around, and watch an asset walk away with a zero return to your business. You're a business man for gods sake...THIS SHOULD MAKE SENSE TO YOU! By the way, the second option hurts your team, and should offend your fanbase. I really hope it does cause I don't give two shits about the Bengals either way and it offends me.
Okay I feel better now. Thanks for listening.
Where's the "like" button...
ReplyDelete