We got a lot of CBA crap happening. Most of it is boring and I don't care, but here's the stuff I think is interesting:
The owners vote was 31-0....who didn't vote? Yep. Raiders. Come on. Even the crappy small market teams voted for it. No deal is gonna fix shitty management. Give it up Al. It ain't the 70's anymore. You did a lot for this league - they should build you a statue - but it's time to let it go man.
Fans win with the new CBA....not saddled with shitty contracts when your team makes a bad pick in the top 10. AAAAAAAAND looks like the structure for the top picks are pretty much locked down which means no more holdouts. YES. Yes yes yes. Worth the wait. Also there's now a 46 man rule - and changes the game in a good way. Ask any coach and he'll tell you what a difference it makes to be able to have that extra man available to him on Sunday. One more guy can make all the difference. It means depth and flexibility. No more need for the Colts/Pats/Steelers to dress 3 qb's. Good for teams with strong qb's. Good for teams that have a multidimensional guy that can play qb in the wildcat but also play wr/rb/or be on special teams cause now you can put him in for a play and pull him right back out without losing your starter for the rest of the game. Good things happening here folks.
Now for our Asshole of the Week Awards:
I wanna take a second to call out Parrish Cox of the Denver Broncos. Not JUST because you're a Bronco, though that would be enough, but in particular for carrying a blacked-out girl (fireman-style) into you're bedroom and raping/impregnating her while she was unconscious. Classy holmes, classy. And special thanks to your other NFL player roommates for leaving you alone with her after you tried to get them to do it but they refused. Way to go guys.
And our runner up goes to Braylon Edwards. Not that this should be any surprise, but the government needs to get its priorities straight. Plaxico gets 2 years for shooting HIMSELF in the leg in a nightclub in NY. Braylon Edwards gets a DUI (.16 fyi) , also in NY, no jail time. No probation. $500 fine. Huh? Why is no one talking about this? Anybody out there think that's not more dangerous than carrying a handgun? (ok so it was in his sweatpants, but still.) Drinking and driving, particularly when you are THAT drunk, is a phenomenally stupid idea, particularly when you're a millionaire and your team has a service whose entire reason for existence is to drive drunk players home. Braylon Edwards - you're a fuckin idiot, and that the government would let you cut a deal that is that weak is a sham. Guess they can give all the money they saved to the feds so they can try to prosecute Clemens. #totalfuckingwasteoftimeandmoney. On second thought, perhaps the NY state government deserves to share the award with Braylon.
And I'm gonna comment about this against my better judgment, but...Favre to the Eagles? As the guys on Fox would say, C'mon Man! Yes, he can still play, I get it. But you wanna back-up Vick? Ummm....no.
Sad note of the day - The AP got their hands on some old and unreleased suicide prevention PSA's filmed by...ugh...Steve Mcnair. *sigh*
On a college football note : The Texas Longhorns have a TV station. They partner with ESPN. ESPN will begin televising high school football games featuring athletes who are unsigned but verbally committed to Texas. Well kids, if ya don't feel like goin to Ohio State any more, guess you can get some early airtime at UT. Big 12 opponents just got smoked. How long before the Big Ten network follows suit?
That's all for today.
Stay cool kids.
(no global warming my ass. you been outside? okay so its summer but whatever.)
No comments:
Post a Comment