Because e'body wants to talk Eagles, I'll indulge for a moment. Could we chill the f*** out for a minute? Cause I know we all want to name, well, just about anybody the next Heat, or the next Jordan, or the next Tiger (not that the Heat should be in that class, but you get my point.) Let's play a game. How many top flight free agents did the Eagles sign this offseason?
I'll wait while you think this out. No cheating. Take a real guess.
Tell ya what, I'll talk about something else and we'll come back to that in a jif. Time for a bunch of stuff that I predict we will see this season...
- The Packers will not go to the Superbowl again. Now don't get me wrong, they're extremely talented. But back-to-back appearances are rare enough that I feel comfy making this prediction. Remember that a first place team plays a first place schedule. The NFL does this on purpose ya'll.
- The Patriots probably will. Cause, well, the evil genius is the evil genius and the additions of 85 and Haynesworth (who they got basically for a ham sandwich) make them dangerous.
- The Eagles and Falcons are gonna contend for a trip to the big game.
- The Seahawks are gonna suck.
- So will the Redskins.
- And the Jags.
- Tampa Bay will not. If you haven't been paying attention, you'd better (Josh Freeman grew up a Chiefs fan so he's on my happy list). Same goes for the Rams.
- Bills will be better than the Fins. Fo sho. And Fitzpatrick will finally get some love from the media.
- Somebody is gonna get desperate and sign T.O. It won't matter.
- Cam Newton is going to make a great play to win a game (a...as in singular.) and people are gonna go crazy and crown him the king for no good reason.
- The Broncos are gonna be horrible and Tebow is gonna get a shot. It. Will. Not. Matter.
- Bob Sanders will tear his bicep. Again. And retire.
- We're gonna hear Favre's name again around week 5.
- Kolb will be ok, and the Cards will go 7-9 and finish in 2nd in the west. Ugh.
- Ray Lewis plays his last season with the Ravens.
Oh, and before I forget, Rodgers-Cromartie is about to find out the hard way why it sucks to be the second good corner on a team. Cause the other team is going to throw. Period. And if the best corner is on the other side of the field they're gonna have to just suck it up and throw at you. And I don't care how good a corner is, he's gonna get beat more often than not cause that's how the NFL have set up the rules. He should ask his cousin how his year went with the Jets playin opposite Revis-Island. He had 3 interceptions (tied with 25 other players for 30th in the NFL) and had 30 tackles (that didn't even make the top 100 among all DB's in the league.) Ironically, Asante Samuel will probably have the better year. I actually think he may get more picks than any other DB in the league cause he'll be playing against slot receivers, and lately those guys have become the go-to receivers in the league.
That's it for now. Gonna go set my DVR cause football starts THURSDAYYYYYYYYYY!
Go Chiefs.
I agree with all of your prognostications except one: I believe that IF Kolb plays as well as the hype (BIG if), then the Cards win the West. Same record as the Rams (9-7), but win the tie-breaker.
ReplyDeleteOkay. All but two: As much as I reeeeeeally wanna believe Ray-Ray hangs 'em up after this year, I'll believe it when I see it. I gotta think he's got two more seasons in him. Ouch.