Thursday, July 21, 2011

The Blog is Back!

Fear not friends, the SportsRantsEtc blog is not dead.  It has risen again for your general reading pleasure.  Thanks for hangin' in there, and I hope not to disappoint.  As I am no longer ensnared by the duties of a full-time student, and will be desperately seeking an outlet, I believe these will be more frequent, and perhaps even of higher quality.  Probably not, but just know that I mean well.  To all 5 of my followers - thank you for your loyal followership, and I apologize for my lengthy absence. 

For the sake of our sanity I will try not to spend much time on this whole lock-out, CBA bullshit that we have been trapped by for the last 6 months.  I'll say this - I'm glad it's gonna be over soon.  Headlines as of now of course read "Not So Fast."  Because, ya know, the owners voted it in but the players might not.  Then the players will vote it in tomorrow and the headlines will read "Why It's Still Not Over."  Then when they settle all the legal bullshit that we don't care about, we'll get cute little synopsis explaining the new CBA to the average Joe.  Then off to the shit we actually care about - free agency, training camp, preseason, and grown men kicking each others asses every week for our general enjoyment.  YES!!!!

What I did find interesting was that underneath all the headlines, buried on the bottoms of sports web pages everywhere, was that the first football game of the season - the Hall of Fame Game - has been cancelled.  Yes kids, the lockout actually did cost us football.  Not much, but seriously, I have been known to stay up until 3am to watch the fucking America Bowl (played usually in Japan, or China, or wherever-the-hell they play it) because I'm so desperate to see some football after the endless weeks of golf, soccer, world poker tour, whatever-the-hell-they-fill-ESPN-with-when-there's-no-NFL-or-NBA.  Ok so I like some of that stuff a little, but it's not the same.  But back to the point - they insisted all along that we'd never lose this game.  Analysts and experts everywhere predicted it.  But when it happened, the media buried it behind the news that "YAY the owners ratified the deal!!"  Well I'm not letting it slide and I'm calling out all you assholes to own up to your mispredictions tomorrow.  Probably 10 seconds before commercial on hour 3 of your radio program.  Rams fans and Bears fans are allowed to officially flip out, and I encourage you all to do so cause I'd be livid if it was my team.  I know the game is stupid and most people just don't care, but some of us really do want to sit and watch our 6th-round-draft-pick beat the-other-guys-6th-round-draft-pick's ass .  Probably cause ours is gonna have to start this season, but whatever.  

I guess what this all boils down to is - THANK GOD THESE GREEDY ASSHOLES FINALLY AGREED ON A WAY TO STEAL MY MONEY FOR THE NEXT 10 YEARS!  And I mean that lovingly and with genuine excitement.  Thank you.  Fuck you a little, but mostly thank you.

Word.

No comments:

Post a Comment