And now back to reality. This is the week where the bullshit begins. It will remain that way until the full-on bullshit train runs full steam right after week 1 of the regular season. It's awesome seeing football again. But lets not go crazy just yet. Until about week 6 we're not going to have any idea how this season is going to play out, and even then it could flip on its head. That's what makes it so much fun to watch, right?
Some teams are going to let their players go out and make a statement. Others could care less about the outcome of the game and are treating them like a practice. Teams lost all their OTA's this year, and with training camp reduced to everyone sitting around playing Madden, many coaches are in a position where preseason game tape is the most reliable source they have for evaluating teams. Teams that are relatively stable and have had the least changes will obviously benefit the most. But honestly, that's not most teams.
So what do we take out of the preseason? There's still plenty, but you really have to take it in context to get much out of it, and know that it still doesn't mean all that much. I like to use it to watch the rookies and backups and see what kind of depth teams have. For example, watching backup qb Josh Johnson in Tampa Bay was good times. This kid has game and is the kind of guy that Seattle should have been looking at for a young qb to lead their team into the future. He's got a fast release, a strong and accurate arm, will stay in the pocket for his first couple of reads, but then has the athletic ability to take off and run. That he is on the bench says a lot about how special Josh Freeman is. If you didn't get to watch the game then you missed an amazing stat - 74 of the 90 players in Bucs camp are 25 or younger. There are 3 guys out of 90 that are over 30. And don't forget that they won 10 games last year and were THIRD in their division and missed the playoffs. I told you last week to get on the boat, and I'm gonna say it again. Get on the boat.
Some random crap:
- The signing of Steve Smith in Philly matters. Jeremy Maclin can kiss his starting job goodbye. I know he's ill right now but it won't matter. Smith is solid and is an upgrade. Maclin in the slot will still be scary, but look for him to seek a trade or release at the end of the season cause he's got an ego and will want to be a #1.
- Speaking of Philly, I'm starting to think that Andy Reid is the best QB coach of all time. Favre. Mcnabb. Vick. Kolb. Now Kafka? He's like the Mike Shannahan of quarterbacks...he can give just about anybody the ball and make it work. Speaking of which I am officially attending Eagles camp to try to get that 3rd spot.
- I can't believe that Billy Volek has been in the league for 12 years!?! What a life, man. He's really talented and has had to hold a clipboard for Steve Mcnair, Matt Schaub, and Phillip Rivers. But he gets paid and almost never has to take a snap. Sad he never got a chance to start but it clearly doesn't bother him, so I say good for you dude.
- If Matt Cassel gets hurt the Chiefs can kiss their season goodbye. They're gonna have a rough go of it anyway but their backups are AWFUL. Stanzi might be ok in the long run but he abandons his reads too quickly. Palko is a joke. The Chiefs have a 5 game stretch where they play the Patriots, Steelers, Bears, Packers, and Jets. They're good, but no team gets out of that run better than 3-2 and it comes in the latter part of the season. Ugh.
- If I'm a Bills fan, I am pissed. Paul Posluszny, Donte Whitner, and Lee Evans all out? To win you must add talented players and build from the draft. The draft is so hit and miss and ya'll hit on all three of these guys. It ain't like you got talent to spare. What are you doing???
Seems like the rest of the weekend went pretty much as expected. Except for that whole "Cleveland's offense actually looked crisp and moved the ball" thing.
ReplyDeleteMcCoy for MVP. Yeah. Homers falling outta trees right now.
I swear to God, let the retard parade begin. It's as if the lockout affected fan perspective. Preseason, folks. The ONLY thing worth noting from weekend one is the drubbing the Pats put on Jacksonville. Without Little Brady Sunshine. Scary.