The Hits - This week all the hoopla was about the nasty hits that have taken place so far this season, and particularly last week. Here are my thoughts on the subject. I think the number of concussions has gone up this season because there are finally specialists on the sideline who are trained to recognize them. The concussions have been there all along, but players have played through them. The number of nasty hits isn't any different now than it has always been. But I agree that players are bigger, stronger, and faster than ever, and if the NFL wants to keep its ass out of court (cause lets be honest, this is less about player safety than it is preventing lawsuits) they needed to do this to prevent someone from dying. I will say this though, the number of concussions and nasty hits was significantly down this week, and (surprise, surprise!) it was still just as fun to watch.
As much as I dislike James Harrison, I think he was only speaking the hard truth when he said he is trying to hurt players. All defensive players are trying to hurt offensive players. There's no way to tackle another human being, even in pads, and have it not hurt. Players are used to getting hurt 60 times a game. It's just part of the NLF life. Don't blame him for saying what most defensive players believe. Pain and injury are two different things, and he was very clear in choosing his words.
Next - Jerramy Stevens got cut from the Bucs today after his recent drug-related arrest. Good. He's been a useless punk for a long time. It's no surprise something like this would happen, I'm just surprised it took this long.
And of course my daily blast on Jay-Cut. In his post-game interview he said if he could play the Redskins again today, he'd throw at D-Hall every time. Pretty sure he already tried that. Pretty sure we know how it worked out. Jay - you're an idiot. Soon to be an unemployed idiot if you're so arrogant you don't realize when you have serious work to do. I commented today to a friend that Jay has found his new go to guy in D-Hall, and compared his number of completions to Hall to his numbers of completions to Greg Olsen over the last two weeks. Here's a hint...Olsen has less. Then I read Peter Kings column today referring to precisely the same thing. Hester and Olsen combined have 8 receptions for 73 yards and 0 td's. Hall has 4 receptions for 93 yards and 1 td. Nice dude. Keep throwin to him.
Next week, the NFL is banishing the 49ers and Broncos to London. Not a bad idea if you are hoping they just won't come back. While you're at it, maybe send the Bills their way too. I can't believe they're sending such an awful game overseas to try to promote their product. And they're sending west coast teams? As if the time difference wasn't bad enough. Cut the strings guys, and admit the Europe thing was a bad idea.
Just a little college ball sprinkled in here. Auburn is a fake. They're not bad, they're solid, and they play in the SEC so they play solid competition week in and week out. But they are not a number 1. quality team. We'll see that soon. Oregon on the other hand is. They will face a huge test against USC this week. The over/under on the game should be 90 and I'd be tempted to take the over. As team after team begins to fall, the likelihood that two one-loss teams will be playing for the title gets greater. Sorry Boise State, I'm just not a believer.
That's it for now. Thanks for reading.
No comments:
Post a Comment