Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Here we go again...

Peyton Hillis is a rock star.  Straight up.  He's "burst" onto the scene lately, but he's been doing it all season.  He's a legitimate top-ten back now.  Only Adrian Peterson and Rashard Mendenhall have more TD's.  Not many people know much about the guy, but this is his third year in the league.  The Brownies got him from the Donkeys in the trade for Brady Quinn.  Not bad eh?  In 2008 he was doin pretty much what he's doing now.  Averaging 5 yards a carry and scoring touchdowns.  Why didn't we know who this dude was?  Last year he was behind some guy named Knowshon Moreno.  The year before, it was running back by committee (4 dudes with 300yds each).  In college at Arkansas he was splitting time with Darren Mcfadden and Felix Jones.  No wonder we've never heard of him.  Good for him though.  At 6'1, 240lbs, this dude's a beast, and the Jets are gonna find that out the hard way this weekend. 

By the way, anybody paying attention to the Browns?  Two weeks ago they squish the defending champ Saints.  On the road.  Then a bye week.  Then the Patriots, and they beat them handily at home.  I know they are 3-5, but the league should be on notice.  You beat two teams of that quality back-to-back and you get confidence.  They play the Jets this week (who have been less than stellar as of late).  If they can pull off this one, we could see a team getting hot late and making a run to the playoffs.  Note to Browns: Do not, under any circumstances, change quarterbacks.  He's young and far from perfect, but it's working.  Leave it the hell alone.  

Ndamukong Suh has to kick an extra point, misses barely off the upright, and it costs the Lions a win over the Jets.  Ouch.  Good form though big man.  Stafford was stellar, but if he can't stay healthy this team has a major problem.  Don't be Greg Oden dude.  Not a good look on anybody.

Moss is a Titan.  So what?  I mean seriously, does it matter?

Chilly has lost his locker-room in Minnesota.  Peace out dude.  Maybe you can be a coordinator in Dallas next year?

Mashed-potato's with a mouth is out in Big-D.  Finally.  Garrett is in, but not for long.  Seriously man, you turned down the Ravens job?  Bad bad bad idea.  Who tells an NFL team "Thanks, but no thanks."  It's not like they were the Raiders for god's sake.  You get what you ask for dude.

Robin is bitchin cause he doesn't like being Robin.  Did anyone really believe you were gonna be happy playing second fiddle to anybody?  Even if it is T.O.?  C'mon man.  This dude was you while you were still in jr. high.  And now he still does it better than you and you think whining is gonna change that?  Please.  At 36 years old, T.O. will most likely be second in the NFL in receiving yards after this week (currently third.)  That's just sick.  He literally is on track to have his statistically best season ever.  EVER.  Think about that for a minute.  And the Bengals STOLE him.  Check your ego brotha and let him do what he do. 

11 of 16 teams in the NFC are still legitimately in play.  At week 9.  The Giant's are the bad-ass.  Second in points scored and third in points allowed.   Only team on a 5 game win streak.  Fun fact, the teams ahead of them in points allowed are the Bears and...the Rams.  Yeeeeup.

Bucs are 5-3 but have allowed 190 points.  Only the Cowboys and Cards have allowed more.  Here's the thing, they've only scored 157.  How are they 5-3?  They're the only team in the NFL with a negative point differential and a winning record.  Can you say "pretenders?" 

The NFC West is a combined 2-14 on the road this season.  Note: that's bad.  But 11-5 at home....not so bad.  Only one team is 4-0 on the road.  J-E-T-S.  That's a formula to win.  Only 4 teams are undefeated at home, Pats, Colts, Ravens and Chiefs.  

Farve could play two more years if he wanted to.  And I kind of hope he does.  There, I said it. 

Usually at the beginning of the season, everyone ranks teams, makes playoff and superbowl predictions, yada yada yada.  Then people say, gee, shouldn't you wait until the season gets going so we can really see who the real competitors are?  And I say, yes!  Totally!  But now I look at the team records, and honestly, I can officially rule out 9 of the 32 teams.  And I can say the the most dominant team is the.....????  Yeah, nobody.  23 teams are totally in it, half-way through the season, with no one clearly in the lead.  My guess is this is going to produce a couple of things: big time drama, serious disappointment, a bunch of really good teams watching the playoffs from the stands, and a 2011 season full of teams hellbent on revenge.  Good times, kids.  Good times.

Here are my picks for the week

Baltimore at Atlanta - Holy crap what a good game.  Baltimore is really good.  Atlanta is undefeated at home but they haven't been tested there by a good team.  I think Baltimore needs this win more than Atlanta does and will pick this one up.  Ravens win.

Detroit at Buffalo - Ya know, for two awful teams, this should still be fun to watch.  I'm glad cause one of these teams is going to get a win they desperately need.  I think Buffalo will be the one.  Go Bills.

Minnesota at Chicago - Fine.  I'm a hater, I know it.  But I think that Minnesota will win this game and show Dallas how to suck it up when your'e losing and fix the problem, even if you hate your coach.

Jets at Cleveland - What a badass game!  Ryan brothers mono-a-mono.  Streaking Browns (hee hee hee) vs.  struggling Jets.  Undefeated road team vs giant-killers.  I was brave last week when I called the Browns win vs. the Pats.  And the Browns will NOT be afraid of the Jets, for any number of reasons.  But I'm afraid the sheer talent of the Jets D is going to be too much for the Browns to handle.  If the Browns pull it off I will not be surprised at all, but I think the Jets win this one.  Damn.

Cincinatti at Indy - Okay, so I realize that Phil the Hot Dog Guy is lining up at WR1 for the Colts, and Billy the Overweight, Facially tattooed Ticket Taker is at RB.  I actually got a call myself for the slot WR spot but I have to work.  In any case, as long as Peyton is at the helm I think that anything is possible.  He may actually have to just throw it to himself.  That's fine.  Cincinatti has struggled to get it done this year and I don't expect that to change this week.  Colts win.

Houston at Jax - close call but I say Houston.  Probably cause I can't name a single jags player other than MJD.

Tennessee at Miami - Another close one.  Tennessee got Randy, but they'll still miss Britt.  Titans have a chance to win the division this year and they don't want to let it slip away.  Miami is 0-3 at home.  Ouch.  Titans win.

Carolina at Tampa Bay - The Bucs are going to win.  Again.  And as much as they are a rising-talent team, their schedule is sucksville.  Still, the Panthers would lose to Stanford right now.

KC at Denver - Normally I would just say Chiefs.  Particularly cause they lost such a heartbreaker last week.  But for some reason they just CANNOT win in Denver.  In any case, I will stick with them and say Chiefs win cause they are hands-down the better team.  But I got this weird feeling...crap.

Seattle at Arizona - flip a coin I guess?  Nah, Hasselbeck is back so Seattle should get it done.  I think.

Dallas at HAHAHAHA!!!!!!!  I can't even finish this without laughing.  Ok.  Dallas at the GianHAHAHAHAHAH.  Oh dear lord.  What's the record for most points scored in a game by one team?   73?  Yeah Giants 73, Dallas -10.

St Louis at San Fran - I love me some Troy Smith.  For reals y'all.  But Spagnuolo should get coach of the year right now.  And Steven Jackson should get the "best soldier, hang-in-there-homie, just-came-to-do-my-job, award."  Rams win on the road.

Pats at Steelers - It's a shame somebody has to lose this game.  But someone will, and that someone will be the Patriots.  Belicheck doesn't often drop two in a row, but he's about to develop a healthy dislike for the AFC North.

Philly at Washington - Vick and DJ make a HUGE difference to this team.  They are amazingly valuable weapons.  Eagles will win.  Sexy Rexy appearance?  Maybe, just maybe. 

Go Lakers.

Oh, and fine, FINE....Raiders won at home.  Finally.  Against the Chiefs.  Good game.  I guess.  Whatever.  Not that I'm pissy and bitter or anything.  

Thursday, November 4, 2010

So many things to cover this week.....

Moss cut - Much to my dismay, Minnesota wasn't getting the job done anyway, and Randy was acting like an asshole.  So fine.  Cut him.  Mostly I'm surprised anybody picked him up on waivers.  I figured he'd land somewhere, but a waiver claim is both expensive and risky cause if he doesn't like the team that grabbed him, they risk him not reporting and being stuck with a fat contract and no player.  Tennessee is in a serious bind though.  Because, as many people probably haven't noticed, the AFC south doesn't have a single team with a losing record.  Things are really competitive and the division smells a wounded animal in the Colts and they are hell-bound and determined to try to snatch a division title when they have the opportunity.  Moss is still talented and maybe they can make it work.

Mcnabb benched?  Ha!  Nice.  Who could blame Shanahan though.  When ya got sexy Rex-y wasting away on the bench...ya gotta get that dude in the game!!!  Ummm...yeah, not so much.  You got an ultra veteran qb and he can't run a two minute drill cause he's not conditioned well?  Favre's 40 year old ass can run a two minute drill on a broken ankle, with tendonitis in his elbow, after missing all of training camp!  For god's sake if papa Favre can do it, Mcnabb can too.  And if, somehow, he genuinely can't...don't bench him.  Cut him.  Cause that's ridiculous. 

Props to the Raiders for another big win.  Don't count on it lasting.  Their best player just went down, and you can't tell me Campbell is the answer to their problems.  Don't even get me started on the mad genius Tom Cable.  But ya know what, they're winning so I'll shut up.


Wade Phillips is so fired it's ridiculous.  Jerry Jones has stopped saying that Wade is his guy.  His reason for not firing him now is that there's just not enough time to make a switch.  Warm up your favorite booth at the Dairy Queen, Wade.  You'll be reunited soon.


Some things to think about:
  • The Lions and Vikings have the same record.
  • 8 teams are 5-2 right now.  (Jets, Ravens, Steelers, Chiefs, Colts, Giants, Falcons, Bucs)
  • Pats, Jets, Ravens, Steelers, Colts, Chiefs, are your AFC playoff teams as of today.  Giants, Packers, Seahawks, Falcons, Bucs, Saints are your NFC playoff teams as of today.  Notice that three teams are in the same division. 
  • The two teams most people considered the best, Steelers and Jets, both lost to NFC opponents last week. 
  • The number 1 wide receiver in the league right now is...wait for it...Brandon Lloyd of the Denver Broncos (and Illinois alum...nice!)  
  • Number 1 rushing team in the league is?  Kansas City.  Number 2 is Steelers?  Nope.  RRRRRaida's.  Yeeeeup.  You heard it here kids.  We got ground game in the AFC West yo.  And neither team has a RB in the top 5 in rushing yards.  Team effort. 
  • QB with the best QB rating in the NFL is....Manning? Nope.  Brady!  Nope.  Vince Young.  No joke.  Oh and by the way he just got Randy Moss.  
  • Interception leaders?  Favre, E. Manning, Brees.  Wait, aren't these guys supposed to be elite?
Picks for the week -

Tampa Bay at Atlanta - MONSTER game in the south.  Are the Bucs for real?  I don't think so.  All wins are against average or crappy teams.  Their two losses were to the Steelers and the Saints and both times they got destroyed.  Atlanta wins at home. 

Miami at Baltimore - I like the Dolphins, but the Ravens are better and at home.  Ravens win.

Chicago at Baltimore - The Bills have absolutely had enough of losing.  I thought they might beat my Chiefs last week, but after two OT games in a row they are ready to win baby win.  Bears lose on the road. 

Saints at Panthers - Saints.  Easy.  UNLESS Brees goes down with these nasty knee injuries he's been hiding. 

Pats at Browns - Holy crap I want the Browns to win this game.  For realsies.  And I kinda smell it comin.  Ya know what?  I'm gonna call it my upset game of the week.  Pats in theory should crush em but every team loses one game they shouldn't and I think this is the one.  Jack, this is for you brother.  Browns WIN!

Jets at Lions - Lions are no slouch but the Jets got embarrassed last week and that won't happen again.  Jets on the road.

Chargers at Texans - Give it up Chargers.  You're done and you know it.  Texans fo sho.

Arizona at Minnesota - How is it possible that I don't know how to call this game???  If Arizona wins against a 2-5 team is that an upset?  I mean...I guess.  Kinda.  Not.  Or maybe?  Crap, I don't know.  I guess Minnesota wins but if they don't then Favre retires this week. 

Giants at Seahawks - So the Seahawks are the league's most bipolar team which makes them a tough sell every week.  Giants were that way too at the beginning of the year but they've leveled out so I 'm goin Giants on the road. 

KC at Oakland - This is too personal for me.  I just can't even speak about it. 

Indy at Philly - K this is a badass game.  Vick is back.  D-Jax is back.  Colts are hurtin.  I think the Eagles can steal this one this week. 

Dallas at Green Bay - good lord, Dallas isn't even a pro-team anymore.  Pack win.

Pitt at Cincy - Steelers should demolish them but these pesky division games are really tough to call.  Tomlin is 5-0 on Monday night though.  I'm goin Steelers, but I don't think they'll kill em the way most might think. 

Anybody watch the World Series?  Hello?  Wait it's over?  Who was playing?  Was Strasberg pitching?

Hockey?  No?  Eh.

NASCAR!  Yes!  Get em 48!